Log In/Register

2017 Travelers Club Playdowns – Curl Moncton Champions

This weekend saw great curling and terrific shots as ten teams vied for the Curl Moncton Travelers Club Champion title. Eight men’s teams and two women’s teams provided spectators with tight, exciting games.

Team Boudreau with skip Andre Boudreau,mate Andy Petersen, second Charles Savoie and lead Kim Jeffrey went through undefeated, but Team Sullivan with skip Jim Sullivan, mate Kevin Lunney, second Sean Gallacher and lead Steve Park made them work for their victory in the final. Team Sullivan took one in the seventh to tie, and Team Boudreau went into the eighth with hammer. The final score of 4-3 shows just how close the game was.

The two women’s teams battled it out in a best of three. Both of their first games went into extra ends, Team Roy with skip Anouk Roy, mate Molly Boucher, second Courtney Berry and lead Louis Richard took the first game. The second game was exciting with Team Roy down by five in the fourth end. They took two in the fourth and stole two in both the fifth and sixth ends to go ahead by one in the seventh. Team Nowlan with skip Denise Nowlan, mate Leanne Richardson, second Shelley Thomas and lead Lynn LeBlanc tied it in the eighth forcing an extra end. A great in-off shot by Denise gave them the win. Team Nowlan dominated the third game to take the women’s title.

Congratulations Team Boudreau and Team Nowlan, Curl Moncton Travelers Champions. We look forward to more exciting curling next month when Curl Moncton plays host to the 2017 Travelers Curling Club Championship.

Curl Moncton

  • 80 Lockhart Ave
  • Moncton, New Brunswick
  • E1C 3B8
  • Phone: (506) 857-4285
  • Fax: (506) 857-4286
  • info@curlmoncton.ca

Log In or Register Now